Prepping for Disneyland Paris: The Packing List

What on Earth am I supposed to take to Disneyland Paris?

If you’ve asked yourself that question, then this is the blog for you!

This packing list is pretty much what I am taking with me for a six day trip in July when I can expect long sunny days with highs of 26 Celsius and lows of 14. Given that I say “oooh, it’s a hot one today” when the mercury hits 17, I’m going to melt.

Let’s start with the suitcase. You may remember that I had a certain little unexpected disaster that I only discovered on Saturday night (T minus 4) when I discovered that my suitcase had the wrong dimensions! Au Secours! Je despair! (And other French shouty things because it’s time to get in the spirit…) but, alas, I managed to go on a suitcase hunt (we’re going to find a small one, I’m not scared etc., etc.) and after hitting no less than five different shops in Wigan (FIVE that is most of what is open on a Sunday!) I found a total beaut of a suitcase – a beautcase if you will – for £14.99 in B&M bargains.

I’m flying with Flybe (but it’s really Air France and I’m not gonna lie, I find the whole thing highly confusing, I mean, my boarding pass was sent to me via Facebook messenger) and the dimensions that I have been provided with seem to vary depending on where I look! I’m not going to complain, however, the flight cost me £29.99 when I booked it back in May.

The first things that I pack are usually the smallest and squishiest, essentially “pants and socks”. I always hide these in the lining because otherwise, it becomes completely wasted space. If you’re trying to work out what I take for 6 days (if you need advice on packing underwear, are you even an adult?) I have 4 pairs of socks, 8 pairs of pants, 2 regular bras (non-wired and not padded) and a comfy crop top bra. There’s also my nightie in here and 2 pairs of anti-chaffing friendly shorts that were £4 each in Primark.

Then I roll up my clothes and shove those in. I have 3 T-shirts, 1 vest top, 2 pairs of cropped leggings, a pair of comfy sandals, 2 dresses and 3 things that go over (1 is a cardie, 1 is a blouse and the other is a silky thingy that I don’t know what is called). I wholeheartedly recommend having a “thing that goes over” in summer because it acts as a secondary barrier when the sun is at its hottest. With this section, I also pack my drinks bottle which I use the space inside to store my toothbrush, some Starbucks coffee sachets and a pump adaptor for my suncream. Leave no space wasted!

The next things that I shove in the case are my tech things. I have one big cosmetics bag that I bought at Home Bargains for a couple of quid that I put anything in that is electrical. The reason I do this is that when you get to the security bit and they ask you to take your electronics out of your bag to go through the scanners, you can just whip them out in one swift swoop and then take out what you need to to go through and be scanned. It saves a lot of time and effort really.

Liquids! The rules governing liquids have changed a lot in the past ten years. You can now take your items in containers up to 100ml in capacity and they have to be in a plastic sealable bag that measures 20cm x 20cm. I just bought some Ziplock bags from the poundshop. I then shove them in the front pocket, again for ease passing through security. In my liquid-y stuff, I carry only the basics: shampoo, conditioner, hand sanitiser, shower gel, toothpaste, deodorant and two different suncreams.

So that’s it. I’m pretty much packed and ready to go! It’s been stressful and confusing, but I’m really looking forward to the next couple of days where I can really test myself regarding solo travel, and also really enjoy myself in the Disneyland Parks and explore Marne-la-Vallee a little!

 

 

Leave a Reply

