My “book it” List

There are many places that I want to visit (even re-visit some!) in the UK. Thus far this year, I have covered Birmingham and Manchester; already booked are Blackpool, Edinburgh and York. I’m going to be a very busy bee!

That takes us up to Easter (5 locations in one term isn’t bad to say I work 7 days most weeks!). Ahead of us remains the most stressful half-term in the calendar (KS1 SATs, KS2 SAT and GCSES – for the first time ever, I have no A Level students) so it’s unlikely that I will do much travelling at the end of April/ start of May.With any luck, all my hard work (and these ridiculous hours!) will all pay off in June, July and August and I will be able to feed my curiosity and travel without limits.

May half-term (ish) is my 25th birthday! Happy Birthday future me! Instead of presents wrapped in paper and tied with a bow, I have asked for a trip to London. The plan is to visit as many of the free museums as possible (we may split up as our interests are a bit different in the family!), take out a second mortgage as I buy the entire gift shop at Harry Potter Studios (I’m a Ravenclaw, in case you wondered!) and maybe watch a West End Show. I’m excited, but with it being just 2 months away we should probably book it soon!

Few things beyond that are set in stone. I’m planning a Europe trip in July (there’ll be a clearer post nearer the time! It’s either with a friend or solo), but the only places that are in the pipeline are returning to Halifax to walk around Anne Lister’s home Shibden Hall and a good ol’ hike up Rivi! Not forgetting at trip to the National Media Museum in Bradford!

Outside of vague plans, I’m conjuring a trip to the North East. It’d be great to visit Newcastle city centre again and I’d like to go to Beamish. I’d also like to visit Oxford and Stratford-upon-Avon. And if funds exist, Hay-on-Wye because it’s been on my list for so long! And maybe Cardiff. And back to Chester. And I’d love to see the Giant’s Causeway (Northern Ireland). And spend an afternoon in Phoenix Park, Dublin.

It’s like an illness! I think the list is done but it keeps on growing. We’re truly spoiled in Britain by an incredible array of natural beauty and rich history. I could visit every one of the places on my list, and still not even come close to seeing Britain in all it’s glory!

My “book it” list (list version):

  • London
  • Halifax
  • Bradford
  • Rivington Pike
  • Newcastle-upon-Tyne
  • Stratford-upon-Avon
  • Hay-on-Wye
  • Cardiff
  • Chester
  • Giant’s Causeway
  • Dublin

A lot of my readers are from the UK. Where are from that I haven’t even considered writing?

 

Happy travels!

Leave a Reply

